

Proudly supported by

Brisbane BMW Westside BMW



Our night of nights

This year's Queensland Legal Professional Dinner and Awards on 17 February was certainly a night to remember.

With a new venue – the Royal International Convention Centre – a new format and three new awards, more than 240 guests dined and danced, also enjoying presentations by Attorney-General Yvette D'Ath, guest speaker Tara Moss and QLS president Christine Smyth.

The award of the night – the QLS President's Medal – went to Megan Mahon, of Mahon Legal, who took office as our youngest QLS president in 2007.

Maurice Blackburn Lawyers' managing principal Rod Hodgson received the Outstanding Achievement Award after more than 27 years of service to the profession, while Honorary Life Member awards went to Peter Eardley, Peter Carne and Gary Hutchinson

Peter Eardley, a QLS past president, is a consultant at Kerin Lawyers and a director of the War Widow's Guild of Australia.

Peter Carne is also a QLS past president, as well as a former CEO of the Society, and is currently on his second term as the Public Trustee for Queensland.

Gary Hutchinson is a past QLS committee member and a QLS Senior Counsellor.

The president of the Robina Community Legal Centre, Ross Lee, was presented with the Community Legal Centre Member of the Year Award, while Sarah Roach from Helix Legal won the Innovation in Law award.

Thanks go to all involved including sponsor Brisbane BMW.





- 1. Terence Stedman, Carolyn Buchan, William Mitchell, Michael Murray
- 2. Jessica Carroll, Jarrad Petterwood, Margaret McNamara, Bill Loughnan, Maraget Jolly, Peter Jolly, Karen Gaston, Sue Maxwell
- 3. QLS president Christine Smyth
- 4. Attorney-General Yvette D'Ath
- 5. Megan Mahon President's Medal award recipient
- 6. Bruce Doyle, Rob Hill
- 7. Elissa Pearse, Greg Chapman, Lesleigh Birrer
- 8. Guest speaker Tara Moss
- 9. Alison Swift, Miriam Barber, Glenda Vuillermin, Louise Skidmore
- 10. Catherine Burchill, Katherine Johnson



- 11. Michael Fitzgerald, Judith West, Jonathan Smithers
- 12. Ross Lee Community Legal Centre Member of the Year award recipient
- 13. Sarah Roach Innovation in Law award recipient
- 14. Rod Hodgson Outstanding Achievement, President's Medal award recipient
- Gary Hutchinson Honorary Life Member award recipient
- 16. Peter Eardley Honorary Life Member award recipient
- 17. Peter Carne Honorary Life Member award recipient



View more images at facebook.com/qldlawsociety



























